The Mayor and City Council of the City Of Pierce met in regular session on Monday, January 08, 2024 at 7:00 P.M. at the Pierce Fire Hall. Present: Mayor Tom Meyer, City Council Members Lee Acklie, Kyle Stuchlik, and Jared Baumann. Absent was Will Fogle. Also Present: City Clerk Cathy Furstenau, City Administrator Chad Anderson, Police Chief Brett Oestreich, and Randee Falter.

Advance notice of the meeting was published in the Pierce County Leader. Advance notice of the meeting was also given to the Mayor and all members of the City Council. The Mayor and the City Council Members have signed an Acknowledgment Of Receipt Of Notice Of Meeting dated January 08, 2024. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the advance notice in the Pierce County Leader and in the notice to the Mayor and City Council. All proceedings hereafter shown were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

The audience was notified that a copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted inside the west entrance of the Pierce Fire Hall on the north wall.

Motion by Stuchlik and seconded by Baumann to approve the minutes of the December 4, 2023 City Council Meeting. Voting Aye: Acklie, Stuchlik, and Baumann. Nay: None. Absent: Fogle. Motion carried.

Motion by Baumann and seconded by Acklie to approve the City Of Pierce December 31, 2023 Financial Report listing Cash And Investments in the amount of \$5,594,785.20 and Bonded Indebtedness in the amount of \$1,966,368.75. Voting Aye: Stuchlik, Baumann, and Acklie. Nay: None. Absent: Fogle. Motion carried.

City Of Pierce claims were submitted in the amount of \$171,943.18 and Pierce Utilities claims were submitted in the amount of \$260,628.14 for a total of \$432,571.32.

Motion by Acklie and seconded by Stuchlik to approve the City Of Pierce claims in the amount of \$171,943.18 and the Pierce Utilities claims in the amount of \$260,628.14. Voting Aye: Baumann, Acklie, and Stuchlik. Nay: None. Absent: Fogle. Motion carried.

It was announced that the 2022-23 Form 35K, Nebraska City Lottery Annual Report, is available for public inspection at the Pierce City Office.

The following appointments were announced by Mayor Tom Meyer:

City Clerk/Treasurer	Catherine Furstenau
City Administrator	Chad Anderson
City Attorney	Ted Lohrberg
City Physician	Lane Handke
Electric Supt.	Dave Hrabanek
Water/Sewer Supt.	Kirk White
Park Supt.	Austin Kroupa
Street Supt.	Ed Sporleder
Zoning Administrator	Chad Anderson
Emergency Management Director	Arnie Venteicher
Police Chief	Brett Oestreich
Police Sargent	Troy Becker
Police Officer	Austin Rohrich

Planning and Zoning Commission: Paul Sedlacek, Dave Bachman, Leon Janovy, Doug Lesser, Blaine Bockelman, Chad Theisen, Mark Luebe.

Board of Adjustment: Mike Kroupa, Gerald Hixson, Dave Bachman, Steve Schwartz, Jody Koehler, Chase Warneke (Alternate).

Library Board: Larry Hoefener, Billie Graham, Jan Kramer, Kelli Sindt, Tracy Sporleder.

Housing Authority: Rick Higgins, Jacque Abler, Mark Luebe, Lori Wragge, Susan Stevens.

Board of Appeals: Shawn Koehler, Brad Ekberg, Chad Theisen, Leon Janovy (Alternate).

Tree Board: Austin Kroupa, Pat Moeller, Mary Birch, Mike Gleason, Matthew Neal, Karen Koehn, Paula Bretschneider.

Downtown Revitalization Committee: Bruce Brester, Shawn Koehler, Trent Thompson, Kim Fogle, Jessica Rohleder.

Motion by Baumann and seconded by Acklie to approve the appointments as announced by Mayor Tom Meyer. Voting Aye: Baumann, Acklie, and Stuchlik. Nay: None. Absent: Fogle. Motion carried.

Motion by Baumann and seconded by Stuchlik to approve the purchase of two culverts for the Gilman Park Bridge Removal Project. Voting Aye: Stuchlik, Acklie, and Baumann. Nay: None. Absent: Fogle. Motion Carried.

Motion by Baumann and seconded by Acklie to approve the appointments of Kirk White, Edward Sporleder, Austin Kroupa, and Chad Anderson to the Employee Safety Committee. Voting Aye: Acklie, Stuchlik, and Baumann. Nay: None. Absent: Fogle. Motion carried.

Motion by Acklie and seconded by Stuchlik to authorize the Mayor to sign the contract between The City of Pierce & Western Area Power Administration (WAPA) for MEAN to administer renewable energy certificates. Voting Aye: Baumann, Stuchlik, and Acklie. Nay: None. Absent: Fogle. Motion carried.

Motion by Baumann and seconded by Acklie to approve the Resolution Appointing Jared Baumann, Representative, and Kyle Stuchlik (Alternate Representative) to the Northeast Nebraska Waste Coalition Board of Directors. Voting Aye: Stuchlik, Acklie, and Baumann. Nay: None. Absent: Fogle. Motion carried.

Motion by Baumann and seconded by Acklie to adjourn. Motion carried.

City Clerk

Mayor